Sunshine floods through a series of skylights hidden in an oddly shaped ceiling.

Celebration for the 2022 University Professors

Pictured (L-R): Cheryl Regehr, Maydianne Andrade, John Dick, Cristina Amon and Meric Gertler
(photo by Johnny Guatto)

President Meric Gertler, along with Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost, joined in celebrating U of T’s newest University Professors:

  • Cristina Amon (Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering)
  • Maydianne Andrade (Department of Biological Sciences, University of Toronto Scarborough)
  • John Dick (Department of Molecular Genetics, Temerty Faculty of Medicine).

The designation of University Professor recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge. The number of individuals holding the distinction is kept to no more than two per cent of the University’s tenured faculty.

For more information, please visit: