University of Toronto

Office of the

Ceremonies for the conferral of honorary degrees

June 4-23, 2021

President Gertler, Chancellor Patten and other leaders of the University participated in the awarding of honorary degrees through U of T’s first-ever virtual ceremonies for the purpose.


In total, 13 individuals received the University’s highest honour, for their outstanding contributions to the University, their fields and society as a whole.


To see coverage of the individual ceremonies, please see the links below:


Dr. Elizabeth Cannon


Dr. David Colcleugh


Dr. Anne Innis Dagg


Dr. Ken Greenberg


Dr. Donald Arthur Guloien


Dr. Geoffrey Hinton


Dr. Shirley Hoy


Dr. Heather Reisman


Dr. Allen J. Scott


Dr. Chandrakant Shah


Dr. David Shore


Dr. Warren M. Washington


Dr. Harry S. LaForme