Sunshine floods through a series of skylights hidden in an oddly shaped ceiling.

Virtual Celebration for 2020 & 2021 University Professors

Screenshot of a zoom call with key institutional leaders celebrating 2020/2021 university professors

President Gertler, along with Dr. Rose Patten, Chancellor, and Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost, joined in celebrating U of T’s newest University Professors – Jutta Brunnée (Dean, Faculty of Law), Marie-Josée Fortin (Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Faculty of Arts & Science), Dan Breznitz (Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, Faculty of Arts & Science), and Aephraim Steinberg (Department of Physics, Faculty of Arts & Science). The designation of University Professor recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge. The number of individuals holding the distinction is kept to no more than two per cent of the University’s tenured faculty.

For more information, please visit: